Home Tags Holiday Sale 1887 Morgan Silver Dollar PCGS MS64

1887 Morgan Silver Dollar PCGS MS64

Sold Out
1887 Morgan Silver Dollar PCGS MS64

Not In Stock

Sign Up For Notifications

Why add the 1887 Morgan Silver Dollar PCGS MS64 to your collection?

This 1887 Morgan Silver Dollar achieved the solidly collectible Mint State 64 (MS64) grade from the industry leaders at Professional Coin Grading Service (PCGS). Morgans were struck from 1878 until 1904 and then again in 1921. The Morgan Silver Dollar remains one of the most popular Numismatic series collected in the United States. The coins are struck on 90% silver planchets, each weigh .7734 oz. of silver. This issue was struck at the Philadelphia branch of the U.S. Mint. The issue features a mintage of 20,290,000, many of which were melted due to the Pittman Act of 1918.

Miss Liberty Obverse

George T. Morgan designed this iconic coin as one of his first assignments for the U.S. Mint. He later rose to become the Seventh Chief Engraver of the Mint. The obverse features the portrait of the allegorical Liberty. Curiously, she is wearing an inscribed coronet with her name and a Phrygian or "freedom cap" simultaneously. The reverse features the legislatively mandated bald eagle encircled by a laurel wreath. Overhead the motto "In God We Trust" appears.

Stellar MS64

MS64 coins have full design device details and no signs of circulation. They feature above average strikes and mint luster. The coins have great eye appeal and will be an excellent addition to your collection.

Add this remarkable PCGS graded MS64 1887 Morgan Silver Dollar to your ModernCoinMart order today.

Year of Issue:1887
Mint:U.S. Mint
Grading Service:PCGS
Weight in Grams:24.055 g
Weight in Ounces:0.7734 oz
Diameter:38.1 mm
Thickness:2.4 mm
Edge Type:Reeded
Country:United States
Legal Tender:United States
Obverse Design:Liberty facing left flanked by stars
Reverse Design:Eagle clasping arrows and olive branch within half wreath
Reverse Designer/Engraver:George T. Morgan
Obverse Designer/Engraver:George T. Morgan